Temperature confusion

OK, I’m fairly new to brewing, but I’m pretty sure the laws of physics still apply. Last brew day while chilling the wort, I used a floating thermometer to let me know when it was time to transfer and pitch. It read about 80F and I was about to start siphoning when I checked it with one of those little instant read thermometers from NB, which read 130F. OK, maybe the first one was floating too close to the wort chiller. But moving things around and trying different angles still produced a 40ish degree difference. later I stuck both in the snow, and after 10 minutes there was a 10 degree difference.

So, Is it possible for a standard thermometer to be off, or does the digital need to be calibrated, and if so, how

It is possible for any thermometer to be off, though it happens to digital thermometers more frequently than liquid-in-glass ones. A liquid in glass thermometer is very reliable if it was calibrated properly when it was made. You will pay a lot to get one that was certified as being properly calibrated, the cheap ones can easily be off by several degrees right out of the factory. It is possible for a bubble to get into the liquid (I’ve seen this on rare occasions) and throw the readings off, but it is pretty easy to see that.

Digital thermometers should be calibrated as per the manufacturer’s recommendations - they vary a lot.

Is the instant read one that doesn’t actually touch the liquid? An IR thermometer? If yes, I would immediately suspect it of being the one that is off.

The quickest test you can do to figure out which one is accurate is try putting both in a jar of water along with a third one. If two of the thermometers agree, it is very likely that they are the ones telling the correct temperature.

http://www.foodsafety.unl.edu/haccp/hel ... alibration