Tangible Differences Using A Starter

Everything I’ve read has talked about the advantages of using a yeast starter, but can anyone with experience report more on the usefulness of using a starter? Also how beneficial is using a stir plate to generate said starter?

Less off flavors, higher attenuation, faster start, less stress on the yeast, ready to go yeast cells for your beer.

I don’t really care what size beer I am making, I use a starter with all liquid yeast.

Would you want to make a beer with a inferior product. Or a recipe for some food with half of the called ingredients. With out the proper amount of yeast you are doing just that.

And for the stir plate, you get a much higher growth rate.

For example in a 2L starter with out a stir plate you would get 204 billion cells with a growth rate of 1.12.
The same size starter with a stir plate 306 billion cells with a growth rate of 2.18.

Basically double the growth rate.

I am not a scientist but in my 5 years using a stir plate I have always had a nice clean yeast slurry to pitch. Since I have followed the advice on the mrmalty calculator I have never had a stuck fermation or had the yeast stop to soon resulting in a sweet sticky beer.

Also I always add oxygen to the woth.

[quote=“muddywater_grant”]Less off flavors, higher attenuation, faster start, less stress on the yeast, ready to go yeast cells for your beer.

I don’t really care what size beer I am making, I use a starter with all liquid yeast.

Would you want to make a beer with a inferior product. Or a recipe for some food with half of the called ingredients. With out the proper amount of yeast you are doing just that.

And for the stir plate, you get a much higher growth rate.

For example in a 2L starter with out a stir plate you would get 204 billion cells with a growth rate of 1.12.
The same size starter with a stir plate 306 billion cells with a growth rate of 2.18.

Basically double the growth rate.[/quote]