Talk to me about Baltics

We are planning on brewing up a 1/2 bbl of Baltic in the fall, to be aged and enjoyed in the hopefully-not-as-frigid-as-last winter here in WNY.

I was planning on brewing a 5 gallon steam beer, using 34/70, to grow up a slug of yeast for the porter.

Our plan was basically to use Jamil’s recipe (others welcome), treat water and mash according to it, ferment around 50 for 1-2 weeks, d-rest at 60, cold condition for 6-8 weeks.

Any recipe suggestions, techniques and experiences are welcome!

I’m no expert on Baltics, but a couple thoughts I’ll share for your contemplation:

A big beer like this might need longer than a set “1-2 weeks” to ferment. The big thing is, don’t rack it too quickly. Give the yeast all the time they want to finish the job up nicely for you. I’d also wait until gravity is around 1.035-1.040 before warming it up for cleanup. And I’ll say it again: don’t rack.

Good idea making a small batch to build up the yeast cell count for this.

In my experience, about 3/4 pound lactose or maltodextrin per 5 gallons wouldn’t be unheard of for this style. It’s very similar to a milk stout, can be thick and sweet. Either that, or plan to mash high, above 155 F, for a short time, maybe just 40-45 minutes as I would do. If you’re doing an extract batch, then nevermind on the mash temperature, and you could use a fraction as much unfermentable sugars since most extracts contain some already.