Switching kegs back and forth

So I’m just beginning to home brew and am in the process of purchasing all of my equipment. Like anything else im learning you can spend a little or a lot. Since I think I’m going to be in this long haul, I’d rather buy good stuff and just keep adding. So my first question deals with my kegerator. I have one and have been using it a year or so with commercial kegs with sankey system. If I get the converter for ball lock kegs, can I put two 5 gallon kegs in my kegerator and just switch back and forth to have 2 beers on tap without two actual taps? Ideally I would have a double tower, but figure I can add that in the upcoming months. This is just a short term solution.

Will this work? Thanks

Yes you can. I do it since one of my taps is broken. It’s a pain in the arse. And every time I switch the valves get a little beer on it which I have to wipe off so it doesn’t get all stickey and cause problems. I have two new taps I to drill some holes and mount them. Mine are pin locks but same principle.

I would certainly look at this as a short term solution. But to get a new double tower and dual regulator will be over 200, so it’s not as urgent as stocking kegs and carboys.

You don’t need a double regulator just a splitter for now. I wonder if you can split you beer out line close to the tap so you beer doesn’t mix. Short term of course.

Or a manifold for the gas with one keg on a picnic tap.

You would need to get two valves though. I agree just serve one from a picnic tap.

I’m starting to think of just brewing one beer at a time for 1-2 months and then just getting what I need. If I spread out buying equipment every couple months it shouldn’t be as bad. When I am ready to go, I will need to switch to a double tower and dual regulator right? My current sankey could be converted to ball lock and just get one ball lock for the other tap line?

Thanks again