Suggestions for WLP005 British Ale

I just got this yeast and was expecting better directions online, but I’m not seeing any. I am brewing a Irish stout extract kit (the guy at the local brew store suggested this yeast, being a newb i went with it).

My questions are:

How long do i let the yeast warm for before brewing?
How long should I keep the primary fermenter? I assume 1 week.
Is the same temperature maintained during secondary fermentation?

I have never brewed before and don’t want my first beer to be a complete disaster.

Thanks

[quote=“mppatriots”]I just got this yeast and was expecting better directions online, but I’m not seeing any. I am brewing a Irish stout extract kit (the guy at the local brew store suggested this yeast, being a newb i went with it).

My questions are:

How long do i let the yeast warm for before brewing?
How long should I keep the primary fermenter? I assume 1 week.
Is the same temperature maintained during secondary fermentation?

I have never brewed before and don’t want my first beer to be a complete disaster.

Thanks[/quote]

Here are surefire ways to prevent your first beer from being a disaster.

1. Be patient. Make sure you do not rush things, like…

2. Make a yeast starter. Take that yeast and make more yeast - research yeast starter in this forum - it is very important

3. Cool the wort to the very low end of the recommended range before pitching the yeast starter into the work. Do not pitch when the wort is warm. Without looking it up, probably low 60’s.

4. Control you fermentation temp to keep them in the low to mid 60’s. If you have not done so, research “swamp coolers” on this forum. Temp control during primary fermentation is probably the most important thing you can do to keep from making bad beer.