Stupid yeast question

Hi, nube here. Question about ordering a kit, and the yeast options. Why does it make me select two yeast options? Is it because it requires two packets?
Thanks!

Which kit are you looking at? NB usually includes options from the various manufacturers, but you only need to pick one

A few of the “big beer” kits, that is higher original gravity / higher potential alcohol content, require 2 packs of the same yeast, unless you do a yeast starter. Those sort of beers also tend to require longer times to ferment and age before they are ready to drink. That may not be the sort of kit you want to start your home brewing hobby with. I have never seen a kit that requires you to make 2 yeast selections, however.

Thank you Steve. I am still a novice, but this is not my first try. This is for the all grain Two Hearted Ale clone called Dead Ringer. I’ve done partial mash kits, and I wanted to go ahead and try an all grain attempt, and I really like Two Hearted Ale, so if I can get a reasonable result, I know I’ll enjoy drinking it. So, it sounds like I should just check the box for both the yeast options, ordering two packs.
Thanks agian,
Keith

Actually, now I see I can select “none, I have my own yeast” for one of those options, and just order one yeast pack. I’m pretty sure that for a five gallon batch, the one pack should do it. I’ve never done a recipe that required two packs. But if anyone knows that this kit should be fermented with two packs of yeast, please let me know.
Thanks.

Hi Voltron, I didn’t see your post before. I think I answered your question with my response to Steve. For the Dead Ringer kit, should I just get one pack, and click “I have my own yeast” for the second option?

I would just click dry yeast packet… You can read about saving yeast so perhaps the next time you brew… You could have your own then…
Welcome to the NB forum…
Sneezles61