Stout Blow off Question

I’m fairly new to brewing, brewed 9 batches so far with great results. I just brewed a stout today and the blow off is pretty intense. I was wondering if replacing the loss beer with water would be a wise move to make? I have read that some people say it’s okay while others were clueless or the matter. I mean it’s not a huge loss but when you’re only brewing one gallon at a time every ounce counts :cheers:

If you decide to, be sure to boil the water to remove as much O2 as possible. You don’t want to add O2 to the beer unnecessarily.

Then you have to weigh if you might be adding a contaminate. And you will be watering down the beer. Changeing the ABV, malt profile and IBU’s.

I’d say don’t do it.

NB has 2 gallon pails available that make more sense to brew 1 gallon batches in. Or look to your local grocery stores or bakery’s to see if you can find one for free. Except for the cost of a grommet for the lid. If you can drill a large enough hole, you can use a rubber stopper instead.

Thanks man, really appreciate it. I just wanted more insight on the issue. Told my gf we should invest in a bigger jug/bucket. So far this stout and the Irish Red are the only ones to have a crazy blow off. The Red turned out pretty good, the recipe says to let it bottle condition for 2 weeks, I did and didn’t really care for it. Let it sit for 2 more weeks and it taste great. Thanks again for the insight

Patience pays off in this hobby. :cheers:

I’ve emailed NB telling them they are doing a disservice to new brewers that by these kits. They don’t sell 5g carboys for the primary in a 5 gallon kit. So why do the do a 1g carboy for a 1 gallon kit.

The 1st response was, “we suggest a blow off hose”. So I asked why they don’t do that with a 5g carboy/5g kit. The response was he will pass it along.

Doubt it will ever change.