Star San

Can anyone tell me how long the Star San can keep once mixed and still be effective?

I believe that is going to depend on the quality of the water used to mix it. Distilled water will last longer; harder water with more stuff in it will last a shorter amount of time. Once it begins to go cloudy (which to me indicates that chemical reactions are taking place), I dump it and mix a new batch. I don’t believe there is a hard & fast rule on the stuff.

Hope that helps.

Using tap water, I used to get a week or ten days before it got cloudy. Now I use RO water to make it and it easily lasts 6-8 weeks if I keep it covered.

I use tap water/city water to make mine. I don’t usually keep any on hand though. When I started brewing 1 year ago I bought one of the smaller bottles and just had to re-order star san last month. On brew day/racking to secondary day I only use 1 gallon of star san mixture which is only 1/4 oz or less of actual star san. I mix it up in a gallon jug, pour it into the bucket or carboy and go from there moving it around to a spare bucket to sanitize the other things I’ll need. Then I usually dump it out.

It may sound wasteful but why the heck would you need 5 gallons of star san? I’m new so I have no clue. Maybe some do want that much, but for me, a gallon at a time works and in the past year and 20 batches I haven’t had a problem yet. Just make sure your mixture comes in contact with everything and when in doubt, make it a bit stronger than not as strong.

For prolonged use I would suggest distilled. Ph is also important. I believe you want around 3.0, don’t quote me though. Denny’s kept it around for two years with distilled water and Old Stoner voodoo.

Prepared with the tears of a virgin, eternity. Good luck with that. :wink:

cloudy/not cloudy is not what matters. What matters is the pH. You want the pH under 3. If you have really hard water, it could be cloudy upon mixing - that does not mean it won’t work. Like I said, pH is the key.