Specific gravity measurement

Hi All,

I’m very new to brewing beer and have just put batch 2 into the fermenter Sunday. So far, I’ve forgotten to do a SG measurement on both batches.

My question is, is there any reason other than curiosity, to take a measurement now?

Also, can I take a measurement and get a “good” number after bottling?

I just put a bottle of batch number one into the fridge this morning to have a taste after work. Its too young but I too anxious to wait another week to have a taste test!

If you don’t think it’s done, don’t waste the beer to take a reading. If you’re brewing extract beers and you end with 5gallons then your OG will be what’s on the recipe.

You could test the gravity of the bottled beer but you will want to be sure all the carbonation is out of it first. I was thinking that because you add sugar that the gravity might increase but since sugar ferments completely, the SG reading should stay the same.

It’s recommended but obviously not required to take gravity measurements when pitching the yeast, and when fermentation seems to be done. I further recommend that after you think fermentation is done, then before bottling, wait another 2 or 3 days, and take a second reading. That way you can confirm that the final gravity is constant and there is no further fermentation occurring. If the gravity is still changing, then you could have bottle bombs.

Measuring the gravity of the bottled beer will help you determine the actual alcohol level, but I don’t think it will work if the beer is carbonated as the CO2 bubbles would tend to increase the gravity reading. So if you pop open a beer and leave some out for 24-48 hours at room temperature until it is totally flat and then take a reading, this would be more accurate.

Piggybacking here…