Source of carbonate (or is it bicarbonate) addition? Martin?

I just finished talking with a local pro brewer about a homebrew recipe that he based one of his commercial beers on (a Mild). He said that when he brewed it at home, he use RO water and targeted 170 ppm carbonate and 25ppm chloride. My confusion comes when he used the term “carbonate”. I use Bru’n water and it lists “bicarbonates” and I’m not sure what the difference is. Not sure if “carbonates” is just a generic term for bicarbonates.

So, by my thinking, in 2.8 gal mash water, I would need 1.1 g chalk and .6 g CaCl3. Does this sound right?

If he means “bicarbonates”, then I’ve got a few different salts to choose from to add the necessary ions. I could go with chalk (though I haven’t used this in forever since it doesn’t dissolve) or pickling lime (which I use much more often since it requires a very small addition usually).

Any advice?

I’m not an expert and could be totally wrong, but…

Carbonate and BiCarbonate are two different ions.

For example:

Sodium Carbonate (Laundry Detergent) - Large rise in pH and small rise in alkalinity
Sodium BiCarbonate (Baking Soda) - Small rise in pH and large rise in alkalinity

*** Sodium BiCarbonate is edible but Sodium Carbonate is not!!! ***

The money is on bicarbonate.

The wonderful terminologies of water chemistry are so easily confusing and confused. There is no telling what this brewer was actually targeting without further interrogation. He could have been referring to the actual carbonate ion content or he could have been referring to alkalinity as calcium carbonate, or he could have been referring to bicarbonate content euphemistically.