Sour smell

Hey all,

I’m new to brewing Mead. Only on my second gallon. I have done two 1 gallon batches.

My first batch was blackberries, a navel oranges, 3lbs wild flower honey, and Red Star Premier Blanc yeast. It was all locally available to me.

It ran for 2 weeks and then the airlock slowed way down. I took the bung out and it has a bit of a sour smell. It is just sitting and relaxing now. I figured it was from the orange rinds or something.

I’m on my second gallon… It has been going for 2.5 weeks and now starting to slow down. It has 2 lbs or wild flower honey red star Premier Blanc yeast in a 1 gallon jug.

I pulled the bung from the bottle today to give it a shot and it has a slightly sour smell but not like my first batch. Not sure if that is the smell of young Mead or both my batches are just bad.

I tasted both batches. They do not have a vinegar flavor. They taste like they have a decent alcohol content.

Just not sure about the smell.

Any help or ideas? I am going to start a 3rd batch of mean next week and want to make sure I’m fixing whatever I may be doing wrong.

Yeasty smell may take some getting used to. Did you add nutrients when making your mead?

I didn’t know about using the nutirents when making Mead. I have them but never used them. I planned on using them on the next batch. I see some people use organic raisins to do the same.

Is there a way to may the yeast smell clear out?

You need to rack it at least once probably twice. Add the nutrients when you rack

2 Likes

I agree

1 Like

Sounds like a plan!

Is there anything else that I should add? Any acid blend or anything else?

You really need to let it finish before you make a decision on changes to your process. Are you pasteurizing your fruit? That is important. You don’t need acid blend IMO

1 Like

That first batch, I did not pasteurize the fruit. I just washed really well and then cut and pushed into the carboy. :sweat: