Some Basic Dry Hopping Questions

I am relatively new to home brewing - 8 extract kits under my belt. So, now the the initial excitment, the holy cow, I made some pretty decent beer, excitement is over, I am looking to work on improving my process, etc. So, that is the quick background.

Now for the question(s):

I am an extract brewer.
I bottle, not keg.
I prefer to ferment in a bucket, without a secondary. But, I can go to a secondary if needed.

What is the best way to dry hop with pellets? Just throw them in the fermenter and leave them behind when I rack to the bottling bucket? I am concerned that I will lose a lot of beer to the trub.

I have been using a muslin bag for 2-3 ounces. But, I am not getting the aroma I am hoping for.

What do you do? What do you recommend?

Thanks all.

if you’re not getting the aroma you’re hoping for, try the same recipe with 5-6 ounces of dry hops. there are other ways to tweak the aroma, but all things being equal this is a significant way to up the hoppiness. try in a muslin bag. when you get braver, you might try without a bag, but you may get more clogs.

Instead of putting the hops in the bag you can put the bag over your auto-syphon. Also, I feel like a lot of kits are can skimp on the hops, especially dry hops, just to keep the price down. How long are you leaving them in there?

Can you get the fermenter cold? If so, just throw the pellets in loose, let it sit for 7-10 days at 68F, then cold-crash for a couple days to drop the hops. The yeast will fall out after the hops do, forming a nice layer on top that makes it easy to rack off with no extra losses from the hops.

+1 Same method I use.

I do the same as MEPNew2Brew and dry hopped the Dead Ringer kit w/ loose hop pellets directly into the secondary. For what it is worth, I didn’t have any issues with clogging or transfering hops to the bottling bucket.