SN Torpedo Clone

Hey, I was just looking for some feedback on this, it’s what I came up with after looking at various sources for AG recipes:

Boil Size : 23ltrs
Batch : 20ltrs

O.G 1.069
F.G 1.017
ABV 6.89%
IBU 72.09

Fermentable:
4.45KG LME

Grain:
0.45 KG Crystal 60L
0.225 KG CaraPils

Boil:
2 oz Magnum(10.7 AA) @ 60min
1 oz Hallertauer Mittelfruh (3.0 AA) @ 5min (Swapped for Crystal as my supplier has none)
1 oz Citra(14.5 AA) @ 5min

Dry Hop:
0.67 oz Magnum Dry Hop (10 days)
0.67 oz Hallertau Mittelfruh (10 days)
0.67 oz Citra Dry Hop (10 days)

Yeast:
US-05

Would appreciate any comments or opinions, I’m still pretty new to extract brewing!

Fermentables look reasonable, but those hops seem borderline bizarre.

Quick question: why are you doing volume/fermentable weight in Metric then hops in English? Just curious, but I guess to each their own. Its actually more precise to use grams for hop additions anyway.

Now on to my hop questions: Seems like a ton of bittering hops. Torpedo is a great beer, with layered hop aroma/flavor. I would think it would have a smaller bittering charge and way more late hops.

Also, not sure of the practical effects of dry hopping with Magnum. Not saying I wouldn’t do it or its wrong, I just haven’t seen it and I’m not sure what they would do for you. Magnum are a pretty clean bittering hop. Kind of like the ‘salt in the stew’ for a lot of IPA/IIPAs :mrgreen:

Did you search other forums for this recipe? I have to believe there is a decent clone out there.

Good luck, its a great beer, and I hope you come close or better yet, nail it!

By the way, if you’re going to go there with your Profile name, you clearly need to upload a pic from SelleckWaterfallSandwich as your avatar. Please update at your earliest convenience.

[quote=“Pietro”]Fermentables look reasonable, but those hops seem borderline bizarre.