Silly question from a beginner

I just ordered the basic brew kit. A buddy gave me an extra glass carboy too and a bunch of bottles.

I therefore have a primary and secondary fermenter. However, my friend didn’t have a bung or air lock for the glass carboy he gave me. My questions are (and remember I’m totally new to this) should I use the glass carboy for primary or secondary?
And, Do I need a predrilled bung (and air lock) or a solid stopper?
Help. I plan on making some basic beer this weekend. Thanks for the help.

What size carboy? If it is 5 gallon, do not use it for primary. If it is 6.5 gallon you can use it for primary. The biggest thing with whatever your primary fermenter is, is the size - you want 1 gallon+ of headspace for active ferment so it does not overflow. However, many folks on here (myself included) would tell you not to worry about secondary fermentation at all. Lots of people go primary only for about 3 weeks, transfer to bottling bucket, add sugar, and bottle. One less step - one less chance to cause problems with your beer.

Yes, you will need a drilled bung of appropriate size to accommodate an airlock for your carboy to let off CO2.

+1 to the above.

I do love using my carboy for secondary ‘fermentations’… and by that, I mean to impart flavor, clarification if necessary. (Oak Chips, Gelatin, Irish Moss, etc.)

…and it’s always nice to have a vessel on standby so you can go right ahead and make another batch!

I’ve never heard anyone say they have too much!

if you don’t have an airlock just use aluminum foil. that all i use anymore.

I still rack to a secondary and agree with all of the above posters.

+1 Aluminum foil sprayed with sanitized wrapped loosely over the top of the carboy opening. No more slippery sanitized bungs sliding up and out the opening and onto the floor. You do miss out on the bloop-bloop-bloop of the airlock during fermentation though.

I only secondary beers that will be sitting more than 8 weeks.