Should I Re-Pitch?

Hey guys,

I’m a fairly new brewer so bear with me a little.

48 hours after pitching the yeast I have not seen any activity in the airlock. During the first 24 hours there was quite some activity inside the carboy but I never saw any bubbles going out the airlock.

Could it be that fermentation is over? Rather strange because I’ve been sticking to the same process and recipe for a couple of months and this had not happened before.

Could it be that the yeast was not properly rehydrated or pitched and it died? How do I determine if I need to re-pitch some new yeast?

Bubbles in the airlock are never a good indication one way or the other. Is there (or was there) a krausen of yeast at the top at any point? If so, its possible that fermentation is complete.

What was the recipe, what type of yeast did you use, and what temp did you pitch at?

Are you using a bucket? Lower CO2 pressure from a slowing fermentation may not push out through the air lock, but may be escaping around the rim of the bucket.

I was under the impression that if the airlock’s function was to release gases in the form of bubbles during fermentation.

After the first 24 hours there was, but not anymore.

The yeast was Danstar Nottingham Ale Dry Yeast and I did not take a temp when pitching, but it was probably around the high 60s to low 70s.

I’m using a glass carboy with a cap like this one

and a 3 piece airlock

The pitching temp might have been a bit high but with your replies I believe that fermentation did happen and that it has already stopped.

New question now. If fermentation is over, is there any advantage to leaving it in the fermentor for another week? Can I go ahead and bottle it?