"Shake and Make" vs. "Set It and Forget It"

Ok, so I’m new to kegging, and recently picked up the Northern Brewer “Draft Brewer Flex Keg System.”

I have an Irish Red in one right now, that has been in a fridge (along with the CO2 bottle - if folks want to know that…) for about a week now at roughly 36 degrees set at roughly 12psi.

Beer foams like a beast and tastes flat even after a careful pour. While I am going to start playing with line/hose length (comes out WAY too fast I think), I am curious about the two types of “force carbing” philosophies indicated in the title.

For those that “Shake and Make” to carb faster, are you setting your initial psi higher than the “pour” pressure, or are you setting at the pressure you’ll keep for serving?

If a HIGHER pressure than at serving, are you bleeding pressure off prior to pouring? [seems intuitive, but figured I’d ask]

For “Shake and Make,” does it still take two weeks or so to “hydrate” the CO2 (as I have read - and been told - it takes for “Set and Forget”), or does that go quicker as well?

I’d appreciate any thoughts folks might have on the matter. …getting my beers dialed in to “awesome,” so I’m trying to match my kegging/serving to 'em!

Thanks!

I will force carb at 30 PSI, shake the keg vigorously, many times, keep the air on while you shake it. Now put in the fudge, without the CO. Yes its got some head, but, still needs to dissolve into your brew to get “awesome”. The quick way helps you to get to drinking it sooner. I usually pour at 8 - 10 PSI. Sneezles61

What you’re experiencing is the CO2 not be hydrated. Its carbed but not fully hydrated and staying in solution. No matter what method you use this takes time. Shaken carbed beer will be lie fountain pop… carbed but quick dissipating head.