Secondary Fermentation unit mold?

Hi. I’m new to brewing and this was my 3rd brew. The first two came out perfect however this Irish blond ale is forming white dandruff in the secondary after almost 4 weeks (8jan22 will be 4 weeks). It was in the primary for 2 weeks. Was curious if this is a byproduct of the reactions or scary mold. I did use the fast pitch starter with liquid yeast for about 30hours before pitching.

That does look problematic, but your beer with be fine. I would bottle as soon as possible. Do you know where your final gravity (FG) is supposed to be? Was this an extract brew? If yes to both you can take a hydrometer reading to check. If you don’t know your intended FG then check you gravity and check if it’s the same in 3 days and if it is you are safe to bottle. 4 weeks is usually enough time for 90% of brews.

Two weeks in primary and four weeks in secondary sounds like a lot of wasted time. The general opinion these days is that secondaries are not really recommended and just provided a way to introduce oxygen ( or other things) if not done in a way that prevents oxygen ingress.

Where these the kit instructions?

1 Like

So the first two beers done was the smashing pumpkin and caribou slobber. Both used the primary and secondary fermentation and came out great. I’m really good about sanitization and minimizing oxygen but guess something got by me. I did just purchase another secondary this last week (need/love to make more beer) and went with the no siphon option for easier transfer to bottling and less air contact.

This one was the Irish Blond Ale extract kit. Instruction have beyond brew day - secondary fermentation 2-4 weeks.

Thanks. My OG was 1.060 and it should of been 1.059. Figured the brew went as planned. I’m unsure (directions did not say FG) but my first reading two days ago was 1.012.

Think I should bottle tonight or take another FG first?