Save my Mead

Hello All,

As you can tell by the name, I’m pretty new to brewing. I have made six or so beers, only one was all-grain, and mostly I just watched that one and drank…

I’ve also made a pretty awesome cider, and a mead that… only didn’t suck.

I made a five gallon batch of mead as my first, allow with a couple 1 gallon batches. I drank the 1 gallons after about six months, well aware that it was kinda early. I was mostly just curious, and wanted to see what an under-done batch tasted like. As I said, it didn’t suck.

I’d used clover honey, cause that’s all I could find… I know it makes things sweeter than other kinds, but… I also couldn’t get my hands on any champagne yeast, so I used “dry ale” yeast…

Now, a little background, I REALLY like dry. I like dry bitter IPAs, I like the dryness of champagne, etc. I do not like sweet. As you might imagine, my brews thus far using clover honey and even the “dry ale yeast” were somewhat sweet.

The original 5 gallon batch that I made, after about 8 months now, I have racked a couple of times, but last time I spilled some. I thought I’d try to add some water, and some more honey, and even threw in a few oranges to change the flavor a bit, knowing full well that my brewing process may be set back a while. I figured, I’m not likely to make it worse than the 1 gallon brews, and I’m probably going to drink it regardless, so what’s to loose, but a few hours of time?

However… My yeast was apparently dead, so it’s been sitting for a little while with extra honey and oranges.

I’d like to get some yeast and throw it in there, and see if it’s salvageable. I want to try to correct the overly sweetness…

I realize there are going to be some folks of the opinion that it’s going to taste less than fantastic, so throw it out and start over, but frankly, I’d rather just drink it as is and cut my losses than throw it out. However, if I can possibly save it, I’d like to.