Sanitizing carbon block filters

I have had a whole house carbon block filter that I have used for doing
extract brews ever since I started brewing. I am on chlorinated city water.
I have always soaked the element in star san and then sanitized the housing ect. and
assembled it and run tap water run through it a while to rinse it. The water always tastes OK
and seems chlorine free and makes good extract beer. I have always wondered,
though if others did this or what their methods were. Any thoughts?

wait, why are you sanitizing the filter if it is for pre-boil water? Am I missing something in the way you worded this?

No it is for the cold water waiting in the fermenter that never gets boiled.
if it were not for that I wouldn’t worry about it. What do you think?
Thanks

[quote=“1tun”]No it is for the cold water waiting in the fermenter that never gets boiled.
Thanks[/quote]
I think most brewers don’t use water that has never been boiled, but I could be wrong. On the few partial boil extract batches I made, I boiled the top-off water separately and cooled it ahead of time.

[quote=“Slothrob”][quote=“1tun”]No it is for the cold water waiting in the fermenter that never gets boiled.
Thanks[/quote]
I think most brewers don’t use water that has never been boiled, but I could be wrong. On the few partial boil extract batches I made, I boiled the top-off water separately and cooled it ahead of time.[/quote]

I’ve made about 6 extract kits and never boiled any of the top-off water. Never had any issues.

Mattnaik,
OK. Did you top off with tap water?
Did you remove the chlorine?
I thought of boiling the water ahead and
cooling it but it seems like a lot of trouble.
I guess my question is: how can I run the
top off water through a carbon block filter
and not risk contamination. My method of
a quick soak of the element in star san and
a quick rinse after assembly seems to work
but I just wondered what others were doing.

[quote=“1tun”]Mattnaik,