Sam Adams Bottles not sealing?

All,

I’m new to home brewing and am currently enjoying my first batch, an Irish Red Ale. Anyhow, I was primarily a Sam Adams drinker so I held onto a lot of those bottles when I decided to start home brewing. I also have quite a few from local micro-breweries in the Hampton Roads area. Anyhow, I have noticed that so far every Sam Adams bottle I’ve opened has been fairly flat. While it does have some carbonation in it, it doesn’t have enough to provide any head to speak of. The other non-Sam Adams bottles I’ve used on the other hand are well carbonated and provide a fair amount of head on them.

Has anyone else had problems with Sam Adams bottles not sealing properly? I looked at the bottles and the lip seems perhaps to be a bit thinner on the Sam Adams bottles than on my other bottles. I had a few in me by this point, so maybe my eyesight isn’t the best right now.

My next batch (Saison de Noel) should be ready to bottle in about 3 weeks. Right now I’m planning on avoiding the Sam Adams bottles and just go with some new store bought ones to be on the safe side.

Any guidance appreciated.

TIA,
Crypto

I’ve been using Sam Adams bottles (as well as many others) for 13 years with no problems. i quit having sealing problems when I switched from a wing capper to a bench capper. but many other folks have been using wing cappers longer than I’ve been brewing with no problems. it’s a conundrum, to be sure.

i never wear a conundrum when brewing :mrgreen:

I haven’t had any problems in terms of sealing with Sam Adams, I use the red baron (I think that is what it is called). O

I haven’t had any issues with them either.

How long did you let it carb and how much priming sugar did you use? The only problems with bottles ive ever had a from Abita brewing in Abita Springs, LA the tops snap off while opening.

I use Sam Adams bottles all the time with a bench capper. No problems. Some of them I can’t even count how many batches they been used.