Reusing Yeast Bed

Hi Guys:
I am new to home brewing and have brewed several NB extract kits, and in fact, just finished capping a Irish Red Ale kit. I have been craft distilling for several years now, which prompts this question. In distilling and preparing a new mash, it is very common to take the yeast bed (trub) from the batch prior and use it in the next batch of mash. In addition to saving money by not having to buy yeast, many believe it actually the quality of the new batch of mast. I will bottle a NB Mile Ale next week, and are wondering the effect of using the yeast bed for a new batch. Do home brewers ever use the yeast bed after racking to start a new batch of wort?

Thanks,
Don

Re-using yeast is very common in brewing. As you point out the yeast often performs better after a few batches. Just remember to keep things sanitary. The more you reuse yeast the more chances of infection.

Cheers

Do a google search for washing yeast and you’ll get a lot of info. More often than not there is significantly more yeast left over than you will need for a single batch so a lot of people will wash/rinse it with boiled and cooled water and then separate it into two or three jars, each one which will typically be enough for a batch.

If you do this you can save them in the fridge for a few months in mason jars and then make a yeast starter to get them ready to go again. It is really a great way to save money and if you really enjoy the hobby it gives you something else to do.

I often keg and brew on the same day so that I can put the new wort on the yeast cake in the fermenter from which I just took the finished beer. I usually only do this once but it is common for people to do multiple batches like this.

Thanks guys:
Is there any problem reusing the yeast bed from one kind to brew another type of beer? For example, I will have access to the yeast bed from a NB Mild Ale next week and I’m thinking about another beer next.