Reusing Wyeast 1007 from German Alt

Hello all,

Brewed my first 5 gallon batch this past Saturday (I’ve done about 8 Mr. Beer batches which got me into the hobby). Needless to say, I am hooked and excited for this German Alt Extract kit which has taken off great.

I’m interested in following up this brew with something dark that ferments around 58 and reuse my Wyeast 1007 yeast. I’ve never done this before and just wanted to get some opinions on: 1) a good recipe to fit my criteria and 2) tips for reusing yeast.

I will probably NOT be able to bottle the current batch and brew the next batch the same day so I’ll be looking at canning from what I’ve read. If it makes a big difference, I could be swayed!

I appreciate any help you could give,

Chad

You could pick about any of NB’s stout or porter recipes and use the yeast in it, 1007 is pretty clean so you’re not going to notice it much, if any, in a roasty, malty beer.

As far as reusing it, plan to brew on the day you rack the alt to secondary and just dump your new batch on the alt yeast cake. Some would say that is overpitching but it works okay. I usually split it and do a 10 gallon batch with good results, so you could just use half of it if there’s a lot and put the other half in a sanitized jar for later.

Here’s what I do when I need to save the yeast for later…
I rack as much beer out as possible (obviously). Then I add a gallon of water or about 4 liters to the carboy. I shake up the carboy to get the yeast in suspension, let it sit for about 5 minutes and dump the liquid into a sanitized gallon jug. I then let this sit about 20 minutes and split it into 3 smaller jars, just pouring off the liquid and leaving as much of the stuff that has settled to the bottom. Label them and use 1 jar in your next batch. If you don’t use the harvested yeast within a month, they’re still viable, you’ll just need to make up a starter 5 days before brewing.