Regarding NB Shipping

Hey all, I am new to this all and have been looking to start off with a starter kit from NB. Noticed they had a sale going on to save 17.76 off $100 and have heard great things about the site to decided to use NB to start it all off. However, I am a bit confused about what kit to start off with. I was looking at the essential brewing starter kit, seems to have everything i need minus the kettle.

Is that a good kit to start off with, will i be able to make great beer with this kit?

Also, what is wrong with the shipping for the site? I add the kit and its 20$ shipping. I add anything else, even tubing and the shipping jumps right to $30, no point having $17.76 off when the shipping is a bit absurd?

Shipping can be hard to bear. UPS charges more for size. Big items mean less can be loaded in a truck. Weight is less important, up to a point. That is the reason some of the bulky items don’t get flat rate shipping. Where the flat rate shipping really pays off is ordering kits and supplies. I’ll order four to five kits at a time, with supplies, for the $7.99.

The essential kit looks fairly good. You will need sanitizer. Kit comes with some One Step, but not much. Starsan is about the best to use, and is no rinse. Largest size is the most economical, if you have the cash handy. The large bottle should last at least five years if you save your solution brew to brew. Same with the cleaner, PBW, large size is more economical.
Wing capper is a fairly good starter capper. Doesn’t cap some commercial bottles if you are recycling. The Super Agata bench capper is an excellent capper, but I can get one locally for $39.00.
You will also need a hydrometer for measuring specific gravity.