Reducing from 3 to 1 gallons

Hi all,

I’m thinking of doing an experimental apple ale recipe I found this weekend, but don’t really want to brew a 3 gallon batch of it. I’m rather new to straying from the recipe, so how does one reduce the grain bill when doing smaller batches? Does the yeast or hops get reduced to for a smaller batch like that?

I’m guessing this would count too for messing with a potential 5 gallon recipe some day - decreasing it to 3 or even 1 gallon. For context - I brew all grain and with a Brew Bag. Most of my equipment is geared towards 5 gallon batches, but I’m confident I could do a smaller one it too. Thanks for your help!

This recipe builder may be a good starting point. Enter the recipe ingredients for the full three gallon recipe and then use the scale tool for one gallons. You will probably need a good scale to weigh out the ingredients for the smaller batch size.

This is another recipe builder with scaling capabilities. Also has a check box for scaling to sensible amounts.
https://www.brewtoad.com/recipes/new

I took a look at the Brewer’s Friend builder - I had no idea it had scaling capability. Thanks for the tip!

Quick question - should I still brew with a Brew Bag if I’m dealing with sizes this small? Also, should I even use my wort chiller too? I remember from my home brew starter kit days an ice bath works for small batches like this

Biab is perfect for small batches. Before I switched over do exclusively Biab I would do small Biab test batches

Thanks for the reply! I’m glad I’m on the right track, then.

My brother has a 1 gallon carboy he uses for small cider batches. Would that be okay for me, or should I get a 3 gallon one for the extra head space?

Divide all ingredients by 3 of course. But then also: