Recipes, Software and OG

Hi All, new to the forum, only a few years under my belt brewing.

Multi part questions here.

I’ve been brewing for a few years and taking small leaps out from simple extract recipes to more complicated ingredients and picking up equipment as I get more comfortable. Despite trying new things each batch, I have had pretty good success thus far with only a few hiccups. I brew outside on a propane burner with a 7gal kettle and I ferment using combo of buckets and carboys. I almost always use a blowoff instead of the simple airlock just in case.

This last batch I upped my game and started paying more attention to water, adding filtration to my setup. I also started plugging a few recipes into Brewfather to keep better logs so I can duplicate or tweak recipes.

A few things I encountered with this batch I have encountered before and assumed it was just my inexperience reading measurements, but never to the extreme as I explain below. I would love some feedback from more experienced brewers.

1. For my Porter currently in the chamber fermenting, the OG per NB recipe is 1.066, but calculated into Brewfather with same recipe values was 1.057. I found similar OG/FG differences with 2 other recipes I have plugged in. I really like the layout of the App and think it will bring my brewing to the next level, provided I can figure out a few differences.

2. In addition to the recipe differences, MY readings were not even close, measured in at 1.082 on brew day. Either I have a bad hydrometer or maybe the sugars are layered in the vessel giving a higher value? I have never had a problem with under boiling, this is my 4th higher gravity beer, but this is the first batch I brewed in a much cooler environment (30F), but I wouldn’t think that has anything to do with it? I cooled the wort with my chiller down to 80F and by the time I was ready to transfer and pitch it was down to just over 60-62F ish.