Questions about my cider brew

hi guys im new to brewing this is my second apple cider brew the first one I did was a cider kit and I followed the instructions, it was a apple concentrate with water and worked out fine just not unuf apple flavour or sweetness, this time i used a kit aswell but I replaced some of the water with apple juice and used yeast nutrient its bubbling away like crazy but there is a pungent smell but its not an off smell like rotten eggs but does smell strange maybe a slight sulphur smell not sure, the first batch I did didn’t smell at all, is it because I used apple juice? and is the gas poisonous? because I have it in my room, is it OK any help would be appreciated

A lot of ciders put out sulphur rotten egg during fermentation, it should clean up after a couple weeks you should be fine

You may already know this, most store bought juices contain sodium benzoate and potassium sulfate
which are preservatives, but also they are yeast killers. I buy from health food stores and purchase juices that are all natural without those ingredients.

[quote=“Old Guy”]You may already know this, most store bought juices contain sodium benzoate and potassium sulfate
which are preservatives, but also they are yeast killers. I buy from health food stores and purchase juices that are all natural without those ingredients.[/quote]

you can get plenty of cider without preservatives to ferment cider at big box stores

Adding extra apple juice or concentrate will increase the alcohol content, but I doubt it’ll give you the apple flavor or sweetness you’re looking for. If you want more apple flavor & sweetness you can stabilize and backsweeten with AJ or AJC.