Questions about Bru'n water

I just started playing around with this program tonight and have some questions. I’m sure for each answer, I will have a few more questions.

I use the batch sparge method. With this method, would I only fill in the numbers on the mash accidification chart, and if so, only the amount of water (i use 1.30 quarts per lb) used ofr the mash, or would I also include the additional water used to compensate for for absortion?

Would I also include my water added for the second runnings?

I batch sparge also and although I’m pretty new to Bru’n water myself I’ve gotten pretty good results with it. Anyway, Your mash is your mash regardless of whether you batch sparge or not. I’ve always considered the full volume of water I add for the mash, not subtracting anything for absorbtion or whatever. If you do a mash out you should consider that part of your sparge water.

Sparge ph control is supposedly not as important with batch sparge as fly, but according to Martin there is still benefit to having limiting alkalinity. In the case of my specific water I need to add acid to the sparge to reduce alkalinity. I’ve always used the sparge acidification sheet as is without changing anything despite batch sparging. Again, I consider my mashout to be sparge water.

I don’t claim to fully understand the actual chemistry, but selecting water profiles appropriate for style and then blindly following the spreadsheet has gotten me results I’m happy with. :slight_smile:

Sowould I make make my additions each time I add water?

Example: My mash will consist of 5.85 gallons, so I make my water additions.
At the end of the 60 minute mash I will add and additional 3 gallons for absorption. Do i make more additions then even though the additional 3 gallons will be in the mash less than 10 minutes?

Then I will add six more gallons for the second runnings. do I make additions again?

From what I am seeing, I will mainly be adding lactic acid.