Question about boil volume using extract kit

Hi All,

I’m a newbie here and fairly new to home brewing … about 3 years now.

The Northern Brewing kits all give instructions to boil 2.5 gallons of water. I assume that is because many extract brewers have only common kitchen pots for boiling. I have purchased a 10 gallon boil pot and a wort cooler. Since I have a 10 gallon boil pot, I throw in about 5 gallons of water at the start. Steep the grains in the 5 gallons of water and then continue to follow the instructions in the kit. At the end of the boil, the volume is usually a bit lower than 5 gallons due to evaporation loss, so I top up to 5 gallons.

My question … should I be adjusting the amount of hops because I am using 5 gallons of water instead of 2.5 gallons of water? I have heard that the attenuation of the hops is different when the specific gravity is lower as would be case with 5 gallons of water vs 2.5 gallons.

Steve

Isomerization of hop oils is said to increase in a wort of lower specific gravity than the same amount of hops in a higher gravity wort. I have read from 5% to 10% greater isomerization in the lower gravity wort. I don’t have any experience with this. I’m unable to do full 5 gallon boils.

A recipe calculator, like the free one here, may give you an idea of how the IBUs may increase with a full boil compared to a partial boil with your recipe.

Flars answer is right on. If you boil in 5 gallons instead of 2.5 or 3 (typical for extract brewers), you should decrease the amount of bittering hops (60 minute addition) by 10%.

The big benefit to using a full boil is that your beer won’t darken as much; it’s pretty much impossible to brew a truly light colored beer using concentrated boils.