Purging with helium?

I’m wanting to brew a gose. I don’t have a CO2 setup, but I do have a helium tank. Does anyone know if I can purge the headspace in my kettle with helium? I can’t seem to find any information on this, good or bad. Thanks.

I don’t see why that wouldn’t work. I’m no chemist but I don’t think helium is toxic. IIRC someone once made a beer using helium vs CO2.

Thanks, I know helium is a non-toxic inert gas, but I was wondering if it would affect the wort on a molecular level. I’m no scientist, I was just hoping someone had done the experiment before me.

From my understanding it is very difficult to get the helium absorbed into beer so I think you’ll be fine.

Thats daffy :rofl:

2 Likes

No no no. Helium is a finite resource. It cannot be “made” like other gases or recaptured from the atmosphere. Supplies have dwindling globally and it’s an essential tool in scientific research. Once helium is gone that’s it.

1 Like

Seems like you’d have trouble purging with it since it’s so much lighter than air and so small it’s going to leak out.

2 Likes

I do dive lots with. Hellium. It a inert gas. But under pressure. It creates. Bubbles in your blood stream. Miss a deco stop. You get decompression sickness. Not sure. It might. Carbobonate While kegging. Only way to find out try. You got a tank of hellium anyway. Its a the moment to most expensive. Gas to buy. The world does run out of hellium. Only russia got lots of hellium left. Solution. Run a big hose to outer space. Suck it up haha. At the dive shop we do pay for. A industrial gas tank. 400 dollars

3 Likes

Purging with Helium will not do you much good its lighter that air.

1 Like

While I agree “heavier than air” is not a catch all. In the video you can see that mercury vapor which is way more heavier than air goes wherever it wants. I think the th OP’s case the tank being under pressure would be enough to purge

1 Like