Priming sugar

I recently siphoned my beer (which was originally 5 gallons) into a smaller carboy for secondary fermentation. My guess is that I have around 4 gallons in the carboy now for secondary fermentation. When I am ready to bottle and put the priming sugar/water mixture in the bottling bucket do I need to make adjustments for this? I have heard that if you use too much sugar that the beer can get over carbonated and cause bottle breakage. Should I just reduce the recommended amount of sugar and water by 1/5 when boiling the water and priming sugar? This is for the caribou slobber extract kit.

NB has an online calculator

that you can use to figure out how much priming sugar to add. I’d suggest using it in any case; the instructions they include with the recipes all suggest the same one-size-fits-all amount that isn’t necessarily appropriate to the style of beer the kit makes.

Yes, reduce your priming sugar. You’ll be glad you did.

I’m not an expert by any means, but I don’t think using all of it will result in bottle breakage. BUT I do think you could end up with over carbonated beer. which is a pain in the rump to pour. if you really are down to 4 gal I would scale it back a bit as well perhaps.

Having said all of that - 1 gal seems like a lot to lose by moving to a secondary. are you sure you are down that low?

My thought exactly. When I transfer the carboy is usually filled to right around where it starts to narrow. Maybe a little bit above. You’re not expecting to get right up the neck like a water cooler bottle?
I’m assuming this was an extract kit with new equipment, so correct me if I’m wrong. But with that assumption, here’s some of my first few batch’s lessons learned.