Primary in a carboy vs bucket

I am new to brewing and would like to know the best method for primary of a five gallon batch. I have a 6.5 gallon carboy and a 6.5 gallon plastic bucket with a spigot. Any and all incite is much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Advantages of bucket:
-You can top-crop yeast if you harvest it
-its opaque and doesn’t let light in
-has a handle so you can move it

Disadvantages of a bucket:
-its opaque and you can’t see whats happening (some would put this under “advantages”, since most homebrewers like to check, and mess with brews when they should be leaving them alone)

Advantages of carboy:
-clear, you can see whats happening
-glass, so its less likely to develop scratches that can harbor bugs/bacteria (though I have had several beers place in comps that were brewed in plastic ale pails)

Disadvantages of carboy:
-its glass, a pain to move, and can break, leaving you with zero beer
-more difficult to clean the krausen, hops, trub and other gunk out once your ferment is done

Either one is fine is a shorter answer. In your situation, you may want to use the carboy, so you can rack the beer off of the yeast, and use your spigoted bucket for bottling (buy a bottling wand and attach to the spigot with hosing if needed).

What he said ^^^. It’s personal preference. You’ll find yours. Try 'em both and decide what works for you. There is not right or wrong answer here.

Both are good vessels for fermentation. I wouldn’t argue that one is better than the other. A lot of guys prefer buckets, because they are a bit easier to clean, easier to dry-hop in and they can be stacked for storage.

I like to use carboys simply because I like to observe the process, which cannot be done using a bucket. I use the plastic “Better Bottle” carboy. Cleaning them isn’t really that hard.