Plastic vs SS

I am new to brewing but I do know that I would like to make 15 gallon batches. I would like to get all SS uquipment but right now the conical bottom fermenters are out of reach$$. I am wondering whether to get plastic ferment tank or wait for SS. My concerns with plastic are sanitizing and flavor carry over from batch to batch
Thanks in advance

I have used plastic buckets, not fermenters, for many years. I have no problem with either sanitation or flavor/aroma carryover.

Unless you have money to burn, plastic makes much more sense for smaller batch sizes, and by my definition anything under a barrel is definitely small.

My experience is the same as Denny’s. You won’t get carry over or have sanitation problems if you don’t abuse the equipment.

Be super careful not to scratch your plastic at all. That’s all I’ll say. :wink:

+1 to Denny’s statement.

Just use a soft sponge for cleaning, and proper sanitation, and plastic will last as long as you need it.
I’ve not experienced any carry-over of flavor, aroma, or color. Been using a plastic pail for two years pretty well continuously.

Namaste

Nice! And I agree. :lol:

I would say plastic and also what Dave said (do not scratch it or you run the risk of contamination).

You can get a Speidel Plastic Fermenter - 120L (31.7 gal) for about $150 dollars and that should more than cover a 15 gallon batch.

They make them smaller too. They have a 60L (16 gal) one for about $90 dollars.

I have used everything and anything to ferment in and the Speidel Plastic Fermenter is by far the one I am most pleased with.

I’ve got 2 - 7.9 gallon ones since I brew 10 gallon batches but often will split them to different yeasts, dry hops, etc. I’ve tried glass, plastic and buckets and the Spiedel is my favorite. Super easy to transfer, easy to clean and lots of head room when even when fermenting 5.5-6 gallons.

Down with plastic! It’s a waste, and half of the crap can’t be “safely” recycled anyway. Ugh.