Ordinary Bitter - low carbonation?

Hi everyone,

I brewed my first ordinary bitter a couple weeks ago. Seems to be done fermenting. Dropped from 1.046 to 1.010 and has been there for a few days now. I plan on bottling it this weekend so I looked up the priming recommendations for this style and I was surprised to see 1.5 vols of CO2. I checked other sources too and saw the same number. I guess it just caught me off guard, so I’m wondering if everyone else carbs their bitters this low, and is it good? Does anyone carb their bitters higher? My lower gravity brews are typically highly carbonated (around 2.5 - 2.8 vols) but this is my first time making a bitter so I’m new to the style.

Thanks

Yes, carb it low and drink it warm. Just like the Brits do.

Bitters are one of my favorite beers to brew. I would usually carb lower, but I also like to serve them on Nitro some of the time. When I serve on CO2 I carb them a little higher, but still lower than for other beers.

Hard to get the British style down completely. Remember they would be casking and serving on a beer engine, which in itself adds to the character of the beer.

If you are a little hesitant to go that low, I would say drop down to about 1.8-2.0 or so and see how it works for you.

Usually with an ordinary bitter you would want to avoid the gas overpowering a fairly light beer. your gravity suggests the upper range of ordinary, if not a best bitter. So you may be able to handle a few extra volumes of CO2 if desired.

I carb mine pretty low, trying to represent some of the feel of having a cask beer. I’ve gone as low as 1 volume, but that’s personal preference.

bear in mind you can always carb it a bit higher and knock out some carbonation with a straw/spoon/device of your choosing when you serve it. You can take away carbonation, but cannot add it once the beer is packaged.

I agree though, I like them around 1.5-2 volumes, and around 45-50* maximum @ serving.