Open Air Primary (sealed with a towel)

Hello All,
I’m new to brewing but an experienced winemaker. I’ve read a lot the past few days about leaving in primary vs racking to secondary with regards to beer and I understand the different perspectives. My question though is more about the primary itself. I brew all my wine in an open secondary, covered with a towel and sealed with rubber band. I brewed my first beer the same way because I’ve got large fermenters, and wanted to eliminate the need for a blow off hose and bucket (space restraints). The guy at the LHBS said that should be fine and then rack to secondary. However, I’m curious about oxygen exposure after ferment begins to subside, which it is now doing on day 4. Haven’t checked gravity yet today but based on my experience supervising 50+ ferments (albeit wine) I’m pretty sure this is winding down, which makes sense given the original gravity (1.050) it couldn’t take that long.

Being a winemaker, oxidation is always a primary concern, however the ferment lasts long enough and produces so much CO2 the wine is saturated, and can be left open air (covered by towel of course) for weeks if necessary for some techniques with no risk of oxidation. I’m not convinced that’s the case with beer, not this batch anyway. I was told at the LBHS how beer yeast go crazy and the foam can get out of control (why I used the larger fermenter without blow off hose). I found my first brew to be disappointing in that respect- very mild. Which leads me to believe there will be less protective CO2 in the brew than in wine, risking oxidation. So should I rack into a secondary (at least a bucket with an airlock) before ferment completely subsides and I lose the CO2 blanket?. I’m not able to seal it in current primary.

Oatmeal Stout
OG 1.050
Target FG 1.013
Not a kit but got the ingredients from the LHBS.
Boiled and pitched yeast Wednesday (Nottingham)