Oktoberfest recipe formation

As for yeast, I’m not sure if I can use a friends freezer or not so I may use the Wyeast Octoberfest blend or the Bohemian Lager yeast because I’ve read you can ferment successfully with that at warmer temps. I have room in the keezer to lager one beer but if I can’t snag some room in the fermentation chamber I will go with the Bohemian Lager.

I think I might mess around and try my second decoction mash with this one as well just (because I hate myself and want more work) for fun.

I’m getting ready to brew one myself, and had Daniels’ book out last night too. I have little more experience with the style than you, so I’m watching with interest.

My thought was something like:

4lb Weyermann pils
4lb Weyermann Vienna
2lbWeyermann Light Munich
0.5lb Weyermann dark Munich
0.5lb Weyermann Caramunich I

And of course I think thats probably too busy.

I do have a nice big starter of WLP833, I made a 1gal batch of helles then stepped it up in a 3gal batch of Vienna lager. So I have plenty of yeast to brew this weekend.

I’ve brewed a couple of vienna lagers before with 100% Vienna malt from Global and the malt was a lot darker than the Weyermann (8L as I recall), and it seemed to be too much of a good thing. I’m hoping the lighter Vienna and Munich will work out better, and adding some pils is still on my agenda.

You might be able to acheive mid-50’s with a swamp cooler setup.

Fortunately I have a temp controlled chamber for ferm.

I’m debating decoction too, its messy and a pain though so I’m leaning away from this.

I’ve been using the swamp cooler for every beer lately just to keep the temp within the 60s with how crazy hot July was and don’t want to mess with it enough to get it into the 50s. Your recipe looks more concise than mine and so does Northern Brewers so I might downsize by dropping out the Wheat unless others think otherwise.