Off Flavors

Hey guys,

So I moved into a new place back in June of last year and couldn’t wait to start brewing another batch after getting everything settled in… I started brewing over a year ago and got quite a few 1 gallon batches under my belt with pretty much no issues to speak of (other than a pine ale that was atrocious.) Just before I moved, I decided to make the jump to 5 gallon batches. So I bought all the necessary components and got a Saison Extract Kit from NB. I brewed it outside on a turkey fry burner, and added some orange blossom honey to boost the gravity a bit. Everything went well with the boil, the cooling, the transfer, the fermentation, the bottling and the drinking… I couldn’t figure out why I hadn’t made the switch to 5 gallon batches sooner- But as soon as I moved to the new place, all brewing hell broke loose… I started with an partial mash oatmeal stout, electric stove, mashed too high, fermented to warm and bottled. The finished product had a taste I couldn’t quite pin down, but it was gross. Though my roommate assumed it was the oatmeal and that I’d used too much. He gladly finished all of them, but I couldn’t manage to finish a single one.