Northern Brewer Chocolate Milk stout Partial Grains Kit -ma

Hi everyone

im new to brewing and this is my second recipe kit

Kit: Chocolate Milk Stout Extract Kit w/ Specialty Grains
I think I made an error with the Hops additions

The kits comes with 2 bags of Cluster Hopps 1.0 oz ea.

instructions per Kit
1.0 oz @ 60mins at start of Boil
.5 oz at 30 mins left on Boil ( I added the 1.0 instead of half/ .5oz)

so basically Im .5 oz over the recipe instructions 1will this ruins the stout?
I brewed this last Sunday may 25, 2015 the day before memorial day. Its in the primary fermenter bucket fermenting away… I hope the .5 oz extar i added at 30mins will not make it overly biter

by the way my OG was 1.051/ 1.052 just like :oops: the kits says it should be for OG

can anybody tell me if I made this chocolate milk stout too hoppy? I’m so knew I have no idea/ experiance as to what amounts of Hopps is okay if added over the recommended amounts

It will be hopper than intended. “Too hoppy” depends on your personal taste. I’d stick with it; you may just like it better.

You’ve learned that particular lesson, Most hops found in kits are in 1oz bags, but the recipes often call for 1/2 oz. There are worse screw-ups.

Thanks for the reply JMCk
Yes you are correct I learned a good lesson read the instructions…I’m hopingiys not overly happy
Maybe aging long in bottle will help

Kit calls for 2 weeks primary
2 to 4 weeks secondary and 2 weeks bottle conditioning
I’m thinking I’m gonna condition in bottle extra 2 weeks hopefully hops fade by then. LOL damnnit I could kick myself oh well learnt lesson :slight_smile:

I suspect that you will be fine. Lots of things going in your favor: Cluster hops are about 5.5% AA, so they are not overpowering to begin with, you added too much flavoring hops instead of too much bittering hops, and 1.052 is a fair OG that I think will absorb the additional hops well.