No fermentation

I purchased a chocolate malt stout extract kit. Along with a liquid yeast. I smacked the yeast pack 3 hrs prior to pitching. The yeast pack was fully expanded when pitched. It has been 48 hrs now and no sign of fermentation. Did I do something wrong? This is my first time using this type yeast.

Where should I go from here to get it moving?

James s

Give it another 24 hours. If your smack pack swelled up then your yeast was nice and healthy. What temp did you pitch the yeast at? What temp is the beer right now? If you pitched when the wort was too hot you could have killed the yeast.

If after 72 hours you have no activity then you may want to get another packet of yeast. Maybe pitch that with a started to get the yeast going first.

don’t know if you are using a bucket or carboy but if it’s a bucket pop the lid and take a look for fermentation. An airlock is not reliable way of confirming fermintation activity.

What temperature did you pitch the yeast at? If it was below 65 or so it might take two or three days to get going. If it doesn’t, you can always add another smack pack of yeast and it won’t hurt your beer a bit. I always keep a spare packet of dry yeast in the fridge for emergencies, and even adding one of those won’t ruin your beer. I wouldn’t sweat it just yet my friend, We often make beer in spite of ourselves! :cheers:

I am having the same problem currently. The kit I used was a Brewers Best Milk Stout from a local store.

I brewed Sunday night, March 31, 2013 and checked the morning of Tuesday April 2nd before leaving for work to see if fermentation started. No bubbling. I have checked several times each day since then and havent seen ANY bubbling. I sit and watch it for 3-4 min each time.

I however used the dry yeast that came with the kit, and I mixed it in after chilling the wort down.

Which leaves me with this:
What kit did you use James?
Did adding the new packet of yeast start the fermentation?