Newbie Brewer saying hello

Hello all, just wanted to introduce myself as I am new to brewing, and new here. I live in Columbus, Ohio and am brewing my second batch right now. My first batch was a hodgepodge of ingredients from different vendors. I didn’t even really know what I had. I didn’t tak gravity readings, pitched the yeast at 90 degrees, bottled at tent days, and basically made every other mistake known to man. The beer was ok, not good. This time around I am brewing Caribou slobber. Pitched rehydrated yeast at 68 or so. Left in primary for 3 weeks. OG was 1.052, final was 1.012. Now I am just waiting for it to bottle condition, though I admit I drank one last night (5 days in the bottle) and it was pretty good! Anyway, looking forward being on here and brewing more beer. Thanks!

Welcome! Sounds like you are improving fast. This is a good place to pick up tips on how to further improve your brews, or ideas on new things to brew. Don’t hesitate to ask questions, everyone here is happy to share their experiences.

Glad you showed up ,a lot of good people here. Good place to hang out

I don’t know… I heard your beer taste like dirty sock water! :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

Yeah that’s pretty accurate…

I hope you recognize my avatar!!! I certainly recognize yours!

Welcome to the forum. Lots of good people and info here. Enjoy your new obsession!

Lol yeah I recognize it. How could I forget after the mocking I got about not knowing last time! That and the dirty socks comment

Welcome to the forum man!

Thanks everyone! I am excited to be brewing. Though I need to build my patience. I keep hearing this beer gets better the longer it sits in the bottle, but I don’t know if I can wait until Jan to start drinking it!