New to all of this

Hey people out there!

I started brewing back in November with the small batch brew kit. I decided to start small so I didn’t end up a lot of undrinkable beer, if something were to go wrong… which did turn out to be a smart move lol.

My first brew was the White House Honey Ale. Let it ferment for a week or so and carbonate for two weeks. It turned out pretty good except it only yielded six bottles and it was hardly carbonated. I was thinking of added two sugar tablets next time. Anyone have any suggestions on how to get more carbonation?

Before my first batch of beer was ready I went ahead an ordered another gallon jug, the Caribou Slobber and the Dead Ringer IPA. Turns out I should have done some research on the Slobber cause it was too warm and the top blew overnight… Back to being glad I went with the small kit first lol. The IPA seems to be doing just fine.

Just today I went ahead and ordered another kit of Caribou Slobber and two stick-on thermometers for the jugs. …This time I will be making a ‘Swamp Cooler’. From what I read online that seems to be a good, cheap way to keep the temperatures down.

Anyway. Just wanted to introduce myself… My name is Matt and I hope maybe some of you can give me some tips. This is turning into a pretty interesting hobby!

[quote=“vegetablegod”]
My first brew was the White House Honey Ale. Let it ferment for a week or so and carbonate for two weeks. It turned out pretty good except it only yielded six bottles and it was hardly carbonated. I was thinking of added two sugar tablets next time. Anyone have any suggestions on how to get more carbonation?[/quote]