New Brewer, Experimental Recipe

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to brewing with a few solo brews under my belt. I’ve been brewing strictly from NB kits. However, I am looking to try something a little more advanced. I want to step out of the comfort zone of the kit and add a few of my own ingredients. I am going to purchase an American Wheat Beer extract kit and add 1oz of Sweet Orange Peels, 1oz of crushed Coriander seeds, and 1 pound of honey (maybe 1/2 lb?). I am going to add these with approx. 15 minutes left in the boil.

I am curious, has anyone tried something similar? Also, any ideas on what type of honey, or will any honey do (maybe orange blossom, or will it be too ‘orangey’)? And, should I steep these ingredients, or just throw them in?

ANY recommendations will be much appreciated. This has certainly become an addiction!!

THANK YOU! :cheers:

The honey will ferment out and leave little to no flavor, but it will boost the gravity. The orange peel and coriander I would add at flameout. This will be a VERY tasty wheat beer. Good luck, and brew on!!!

Looks like it would come out similar to Blue Moon, depending on what yeast you use.
Agreed with Dr. Gonzo that 1lb honey added late boil won’t give you any honey flavor, but having said that, I will admit that honey is my go-to anytime I want to raise my OG. I prefer using it rather than sugar.(I’m an old hippy want-to-be).

I would steep the orange peel, and coriander near the end of the boil. 10 mins or less.

I’d also add the honey as late into the boil as possible.

I used to brew a similar beer with the addition of chamomile flowers, which provided a honey-ish flavor.

Thank you for all the responses! I can’t wait to get this brew started. As soon as the weather in NY warms up a bit, I’ll be outside brewing.