Need help attaching the spigot for Siphonless Fermenter

Can some one please tell me how to properly attach the spigot to the carboy. I bought the 1 Gallon Siphonless Fermenter starter kit and every time I try to attach the spigot it leaks. I have tried every configuration for the gaskets and I can never stop it from leaking. Sometimes it is fine for a couple hours with just water in it but it always starts leaking at some point. I am at my wits end and have accidentally cracked two carboys by tightening the spigot too much in an effort to stop the leaks. Can anyone please tell me how to stop the leaks or any tips on installing the spigot correctly? This is my first time brewing and I don’t want to lose or ruin my beer because I can’t attach the spigot correctly. I would like to avoid using tape or a sealant to stop the leaks but at this point I might have to.

Do you have a picture you can post? There typically is a gasket on the outside and inside that go on both sides of the fermenter wall. Then a nut on the inside and the spigot on the outside. If you have Orings instead of flat rubber washers they are interesting in that overnighting will cause as much of a leak as under tightening.

1 Like

Looks like the same spigot I bought for a plastic bucket. If so I think the seals are silicone and there is one for the outside and one for in. They really only need to be snug and a little more. Kind of like an oil filter. That said mine leaked on the first use. I just kept an eye on it and it quit but with 5 gallons losing a little was not as much of a problem as with a single gallon.

I can’t get pictures to upload correctly right now but the gaskets are more of a cone shape than a flat circle and I do have one on the inside and one on the outside. It can hold water for a couple hours but then water starts trickling out and I don’t know why.