My keg is still not carbonated!

I kegged my beer on Friday and I have had it in the freezer at 40 degrees at 20 psi, but it is still not carbonated. Was I wrong to get the pressure up to 20 psi and then take off the connection? I now have it connected at 20 psi. Help me!!

It is the Chinook IPA extract kit here from NB. I brewed this before and bottled it with great results. I don’t want this one to be messed up because I suck at kegging

Relax… all is alright. To carb over time you set the CO2 to the psi you need for the volume of CO2 at your given temp. THEN YOU LEAVE THE GAS ON THE KEG. Taking off only allowed the beer to absorb the CO2 you put in there.

If you leave at 20 psi to long I think it will be overcarbed. I’m no expert but I set it at 12 to 14 for my IPA. Takes about a week to be drinkable. Two to be done.

This is correct, but you can easily leave it on 20psi for a few days - assuming you are just leaving it alone and not shaking or rolling.

I keep at 20 for 3-4 days, take out and roll, leave for a day or so, vent, dial in at serving pressure (or just a little above) until it is finished. Works great for me.

So if you leave it at 20 psi you don’t roll it? Like I said I set it around 14 psi and roll it daily for a couple days. Would be nice to not have to do that. But I don’t have that option when I have another keg on line with it.

With the method I use I have no problems:

I keg the beer and connect the CO2 while the beer is still room temp. I put it in the keezer and let it sit for 2 days at 25 psi at 34 degrees. After day 2 I bleed off the CO2 and dial down to 8 psi. I get one
glass of foam and then its great after that. If I find it isnt carbed enough I dial back to 25 and let it sit for 24 more hours and try again.

My kegs are usually carbed in 5 or 6 days just buy setting it to a pressure/temperature chart, no rolling or shaking.