Mead Bottling Options

Can anyone point me towards an article that discusses the pros/cons of different bottling options for mead? I’ve never done mead before and would like some guidance before attempting it, even though I know I could make that decision weeks, if not months, into fermentation. Does using 22 oz. ale bottles with pry-off crown caps create a sub-par flavor? Can you create any carbonation by bottle conditioning this way? Same questions with wine bottles, please. I’ve not force-carbonated by keg yet, and would be hesitant to start that the first time with my first mead. Thanks all,

Grant

Really don’t know the answer because I’m fermenting a couple of first attempt meads as we speak. But I know I want to use a clear bottle. I don’t plan on carbonating but if you do you might consider champagne bottles and cork Belgian style

You definitely can’t carb n a wine bottle. I do like @brew_cat idea of champagne bottles or Belgian bottles with a wire hood.

Thank you both. I just had a bit of a sampling last night of carbonated versus non-carbonated mead, and I think I’ve made up my mind to go with non-carbonated, so it’ll be wine bottles and corks for me. Unless, that is, you think non-carbonated bottles with pry-off caps would yield a good product. Thoughts? Thanks.

I think there’s something inherently unsatisfying about using a pry-off cap and not getting the hiss of carbonation. For a non-carbonated beverage, corked wine bottles all the way. If you get good quality corks, it should keep just as long if not longer than pry-off caps, provided you’re storing the bottles on their side. The corks will also allow some micro-oxidation, which can provide some long term benefits in flavor.

I second the above

I third it…taking off caps with no hiss makes me sad :pensive:

Yeah, that’s a really good observation and point. No pry-offs for me. Gonna cork 'em. Thanks, all.