Maybe too much Honey

Last week I started brewing again after a 15 year break. I brewed an American Wheat and added a little extra ingredients. The problem is that I only meant to add 1lb of honey and without double checking the label on the container added 3 lbs of honey. Blowoff was great for 2 days and now has settled down and airlock installed.

Did I trash this batch by adding too much honey?

Is this going to be a very sweet beer?

Should I let it Ferment a little longer in Primary and rack to a secondary and ferment longer?

Thanks,

Matt K

FG depends on the yeast - two extra lbs of honey equals about 2% higher ABV so it shouldn’t be a problem, though. I would leave in primary until you achieve the desired FG (you want the yeast cake in contact with the beer to get maximum attenuation).

[quote=“mak2403”]Last week I started brewing again after a 15 year break. I brewed an American Wheat and added a little extra ingredients. The problem is that I only meant to add 1lb of honey and without double checking the label on the container added 3 lbs of honey. Blowoff was great for 2 days and now has settled down and airlock installed.

Did I trash this batch by adding too much honey?

Is this going to be a very sweet beer?

Should I let it Ferment a little longer in Primary and rack to a secondary and ferment longer?

Thanks,

Matt K[/quote]

No, but you may be in braggot territory.
No, the honey will mostly ferment.
You could let it go longer in primary, but I don’t think that a secondary is needed. What was your recipe?

Perhaps not absolutely needed, but I’ve consistently found it to be beneficial.

My recipe was
6 lbs wheat malt syrup
1 oz williamettes (60)
1 oz cascades (15)
1 oz coriander (15)
3 lbs honey (15) it was supposed to be 1 lb
Wyeast 1010 American Wheat

I’ll leave it in the primary for max attenuation. Probably around week 4/5.

I’m going to keg it.

Should I use priming sugar? Or just use the CO2 to carbonate it?

Thanks

Matt K