Looking To Expand My Brewery

I recently started brewing with a simple, 1 gallon starter kit from Northern Brewer. As everyone here knows, it was addictive immediately, and I now would like to expand. I’m looking into upgrading to the Deluxe Starter Kit from NB, and I was wondering if any of you have had any experience with it. If so, is it worth it? A couple other questions: What is your personal opinion of secondary fermentation…is it worthwhile? Glass carboys vs. Better bottles vs. plastic buckets? Finally, is there somewhere else with better deals? I’ve had a wonderful experience with NB but am open to looking other places.

http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/brew ... r-kit.html

I think secondaries are useful in a couple of situations-lagering, bulk aging big beers like barley wines, and adding fruit or oak chips. For most types of ales, you don’t need it. I use buckets for primary and better bottles when I secondary after breaking a couple of glass carboys over the years.

It is all personal preference. I only secondary for dry hopping, bulk aging, etc. most beers I won’t secondary. As for vessels, I prefer buckets and better bottles for secondary. I’ve heard enough horror stories about glass to avoid it. NB has good equipment. The kit you’re looking at will be a good start. You could maybe find cheaper elsewhere. Different websites have various prices and shipping costs. The kits usually have different components so be sure to compare apples to apples.

For the best price you will need to look around.

NB, Midwest, Williams Brewing, Morebeer, Austin Homebrew and a couple I’ve missed are the major players online. Prices and shipping can/will very. So open multiple browser and see who has the best deal.

Pails are inexpensive and fine for fermenting in. Get a couple and you can have multiple beers going at different stages.

Get a hydrometer and test jar and thief to take gravity readings. Maybe a 2nd hydrometer. That will guarantee you don’t break one. :wink: