Looking for suggestions for Belgian Farm House Saison Spices

Hi everyone,

I’m a rookie homebrewer who is preparing to do my second all grain brew soon. Since my Mom is very sensitive to preservatives and she can’t drink most comercially bottled beers because of that, I wanted to brew something for her using all organic ingredients.

So I went with a Seven Bridges Organic Belgian Farm House Saison kit:

http://www.breworganic.com/organicbelgi ... grain.aspx

I went with the Wyeast 3711 French Saison Liquid Yeast as well.

What I liked about the idea of brewing this recipe is the fact that they recommend adding spices, but they don’t include them.

To give you an idea of my tastes I would like to add flavor to it without making it to “clovey” in taste. Ginger root like they suggested sounds interesting but I guess I don’t have any particular ideas beyond that.

So I’d love to get some advice on spices to add to this. Especially when it comes to how much to use, and when to add them whether that would be during my boil or during fermentation.

So what would you guys recommend?

Traditionally, saisons are not brewed using spices; they get their spicy character from the yeast strains used. If you did want to add something, coriander seeds, grains of paradise, black pepper corns and orange zest are the first things that come to mind. But if you add spices, add only tiny amount. It is very easy for spices to overwhelm a beer, and because spices vary so much based on freshness and source, it is hard to estimate exactly how much to use.

Also, spices should be added no more that 5 minutes before the end of the boil. Otherwise, all the aroma will boil away.

Hi, forgot to add: welcome to a great hobby.