Light Lemon flavored ale?

I’m fairly new to brewing, and had the idea to brew a light, lemony flavored beer with a crisp finish. I’ve read through some of the ideas here on this forum as well as at the AMA website forum, and this recipe is what I’ve come up with.

Ingredients:
6 lbs Northern Brewer Pilsen Malt
1 pkt Wyeast 2565 Kolsch yeast
2 oz Zythos Blend Hops
0.5 oz ground coriander
zest and juice of 4 lemons

Boil:
Come to boil and add malt. At 30 minutes, add 1 oz Zythos hops, zest and juice of 4 lemons. At 55 minutes, add 1 oz Zythos hops and 1 oz ground coriander.

I don’t currently have a secondary fermentor, so I don’t really have the capability of adding zest and juice during a secondary fermentation period.

Does this look like a viable recipe to get what I’m after? Would a typical 2 to 3 week fermentation time be sufficient? Any suggestions would be great!

1oz of ground coriander will give you a strong citrus flavor. That may be all you need. I’ve used coriander many times and personally only like using 1/2oz. Same goes for the lemon zest. You’re using WAY too much. You may only need the zest from one lemon. And no need to add the juice. It will ferment out.

It’s always best to add less in the beginning. You can always add more later. Cut back the zest, add it later in the boil… maybe in the last 5-10 minutes along with the coriander. After fermentation is done, give it a taste. If you want more lemon flavor, you could always add more lemon zest or even lemon juice.

EDIT: My bad. Just saw you plan on using on 1/2oz of coriander. Good call :cheers: