Leaving in primary for an extra week - is that okay?

Hi All,

I’m a complete noob and I’m on my first ever batch at the moment. It’s the 5-gallon Caribou Slobber extract kit. I must say, so far it’s looking really good! I had an aggressive first 24 hours of fermentation and then it calmed down for a couple days. It smells amazing already, but maybe I’m just excited because it’s my first homebrew. Either way, can’t wait to try it in about 5 more weeks!

Anyway - it’s been in the primary for one week as of yesterday. Seems like active fermentation is completely over. No bubbles in the airlock and looks like the kraeusen has sunk down. My question is this: if active fermentation is over, is it okay if it sits in the primary for another 5 or 6 more days until I can rack to the secondary? I’m always really busy on weeknights, so my plan is to rack to secondary this coming Saturday. Just want to be sure I’m not doing it any harm by leaving it in the primary for the extra week if it’s not actively fermenting.

Thanks

As others on this site will probably tell you, you’re better off just leaving it primary for 3 weeks and skip transferring to a secondary vessel. Unless you plan on dry-hopping or bulk aging for a long time there’s really no benefit and you introduce an opportunity for infection. The less exposure to air the better.

Hmmm… thanks for the advice. I see what you mean, I am definitely adding risk by transferring it. My only motivation for transferring it to secondary is so I can start fermenting another batch. I’m not sure if I’m just eager because I’m new at this or what, but I’m already excited to cook up another wort :slight_smile:

I’ll consider this though. Maybe it’s better if I just take my time and play it safe.

Thanks

That’s another reason I didn’t consider :slight_smile:

I think the “risk” factor is sometimes overblown about racking to a carboy.

I rarely rack to a secondary anymore - mostly because I don’t feel like it and it is not really needed.