Learning how ingredients affect your beer

I started brewing last summer and my first all grain is bottle conditioning now. When I started brewing, it wasn’t just because I thought it would be fun. I want to learn more designing beer and how different ingredients effect my beer. I know that praticing and experimenting is a good way to learn, but I am looking for some classes or other means to speed up the process. Any suggestions?

I’d look into joining a local home brewing club, another thought would be to enroll in the Beer Judge Certification Program
http://www.bjcp.org/index.php
to hone your tasting and evaluation skills. At the end of the day though it’s going to be your own experience through trial and error. You might want to look into doing 2.5 gallon batches and brew more styles and more often.

Brew the same recipe over and over, changing only one thing each time. That made a world of difference for me.

…and write everything down, in language that a non-brewer will understand, that way you can go back to it for reference for the next batch and you won’t have to remember every little step/change. I’d recommend that you have a non-brewer read your notes and then have them explain to you what they read. If it’s what you did, with nothing omitted/assumed, then the notes are complete and you’ll be able to fully understand the affects of each ingredient on the final product.

:cheers:

+1 to both:

Brew the same batch, changing one thing.
and
Write everything down.